Today, 1 March, we salute and honour the following men & woman who sacrificed their lives whilst standing in the defence of what they held dear at the time and against evil and tyranny.


01 Mar 1981: Rifleman Peter Hall from 61 Mechanised Battalion Group was accidentally killed during anti-insurgent operations in the Eenhana Area. He was 19.

01 Mar 1988: Special Constable Thomas Kanitus from the South West Africa Police Counter-Insurgency Wing: Ops-K Division (Koevoet) was Killed in Action during a contact with SWAPO/PLAN insurgents in Northern Owamboland. He was 23.

01 Mar 1990: Two members of the SADF were killed while traveling as passengers in a military minibus vehicle when the vehicle was involved in a head-on collision with a truck on the Pretoria-Potchefstroom Road. They were:

  • 83416552BG Private Gerhardus Stephanus De Bruin from Danie Theron Combat School. He was 22.
  • 86461050BG Gunner Jaques Terblanche from 10 Artillery Brigade. He was 19. 


1968 – L/Cpl Victor Simons, 1st Bn RLI, KOAS. Died of a spinal compression in an accident.

1977 – Pte Stanford Dube, 2nd Bn RAR, KIA.

1977 – DA Wilson Mubayiwa, Regular Intaf, Murdered by Cts near Mrewa.

1977 – FA Anthony Temple-Miller (aged 30), ADF Intaf, KIA in Shamva, Op Hurricane.

1978 – Cst Robert Chawatama (aged 23), Uniform BSAP, KIA.

1978 – FR Patrick Gandawa (aged 23 ), PR BSAP, KIA.
(Both policemen above were KIA in the Triangle area, Op Repulse.)

1978 – Gd M. Chimtasha, PV Prtn Group, DOAS.

1978 – Gd B. Chinyadze, PV Prtn Group, DOAS.

1978 – Rfn Phillip Grigoratos, 2nd Bn RDR, DOAS of malaria.

1978 – Pte Gordon Jackson, 1st Bn RDR, KIA.

1978 – Pte E. Jones, unit unknown, KOAS in a vehicle accident.

1978 – Gd A. Mapita, PV Prtn Group, DOAS.

1978 – Pte Langton Matambo, D Coy, 1st Bn RR, DOAS.

1978 – Gd J. Ndlovu, PV Prtn Group, DOAS.

1978 – Spr Victor Nkomo, 1 Sqn RhE, KIA.

1978 – Pte Allen Truter, unit unknown, DOAS.

1979 – Maj Robert Davies, Army, DOAS.

1979 – DSA N. Kesari, Kp Prtn Intaf, DOAS.

1979 – DSA Freddie Makomechi, Kp Prtn Intaf, DOAS.

1979 – Gd N. Masarakufa, PV Prtn Group, DOAS.

1979 – Gd F. Matare, PV Prtn Group, DOAS.

1979 – Gd J. Muramboduro, PV Prtn Group, DOAS.

1979 – DSA Livingstone Ngwenya, Kp Prtn Intaf, KIA.

1979 – Pte Charles Siziba, C Coy, 4th Bn RR, KIA.

1980 – Flt Lt Kenneth Sampson, RhAF, DOAS.

† Their names and sacrifices have not been forgotten †


  • March 01, 2017
  • Piet Fourie
Write a Comment

NOTE: Comments must be approved before they are published.